Resetting your ArcGIS application profile

Document created by curtvprice Champion on Aug 7, 2014Last modified by curtvprice Champion on May 17, 2016
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

When ArcGIS applications fail, or are behaving strangely, one of the first things to try is to reset your application template document (ArcMap's is "Normal.mxt") or the entire ArcGIS application profile. This resolves many problems with ArcGIS software.

 

It's a good idea to do this as a every few months, or whenever a service pack or update is applied to ArcGIS, as these template files can gradually fill with cruft and slow down your ArcGIS Desktop applications.

 

These steps do not require elevated privileges / admin access, as all users own their personal %APPDATA% folder.

 

The following is adapted from

KB 32797: Error: ArcMap.exe has encountered an error and needs to close

 

1. Close all ArcGIS Desktop applications.

 

This may include looking for any "headless" applications using the Task Manager.

 

2. Start Windows Explorer and open your application profile folder.

 

The location of the user profile depends on the operating system:

  • XP/2003/2000: C:\Documents and Settings\<your user name>\Application Data\ESRI
  • Vista/7/2008/8/2012: C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Roaming\ESRI

 

The Application Data or AppData folder is hidden by default. If this folder is not visible, navigate to Tools > Folder Options > View tab, and select the option to show hidden files and folders.

 

The easiest way to get there is to simply type the environment variable %APPDATA% into the Windows Explorer, which will take you directly to the folder that contains the application profile folder ESRI, regardless of Windows version.

 

3. Browse within the ESRI folder for the application that has the issue

 

Each component of the software has a template that stores settings and customizations for that part of ArcGIS. These are:

 

  • ArcCatalog: ESRI\DesktopXX.X\ArcCatalog\Normal.gxt
  • ArcMap: ESRI\DesktopXX.X\ArcMap\Templates\Normal.mxt
  • ArcToolbox window: ESRI\DesktopXX.X\ArcToolbox.dat

 

4. Rename the template file (for example, Normal.mxt -> Normal_old.mxt).

When that component of ArcGIS is started again, a new, fresh template is created. Note that some your customizations (buttons, file connections) may have to be re-applied. This may be all you need to do.

 

5. Doing a complete application profile reset

Sometimes it may be advisable to entirely reset the entire user profile.

 

  • Close all ArcGIS applications
  • Rename the %APPDATA%\ESRI folder to another name, for example, ESRI-old
  • Restart ArcGIS

 

Some files and folders may be copied over from ESRI-old back to the ESRI folder if you are sure they aren't part of your problem you are trying to fix. Key candidates to copy back are items are personal style files in the ArcMap folder, ArcCatalog.gx and ArcCatalog.gxt (these hold folder connection), and toolboxes in the ArcToolbox folder ("My Toolboxes" are stored there).

 


This document was generated from the discussion Resetting your ArcGIS application profile

16 people found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes