Arbitrary display of raster in Arcscene

01-26-2011 10:19 AM
JamieCarr
New Contributor
Hello,
  I have brought in a raster bathymetry with elevation data and a hillshade layer created off of that raster (both created in Arcmap 9.3) into Arcscene.  I have the top raster as 40% transparent to also display the hillshade layer below.
  Both layers display perfectly in 3D individually.  But when displaying both layers the top raster layer will only display parts of the layer, and different parts will flash on and flash off as you move the view around.  It displays some portions and not others arbitrarily as the view is changed. 
  I am new with Arcscene but is this a computing power issue?  Shoudl I try to downsize the raster to a coarser cell size?  Image examples attached.
  Thanks for any assistance. 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
JamieCarr
New Contributor
Hmm..nobody else has experienced this problem or has any suggestions?
  Thanks,  jamie
0 Kudos
Gert_van_Maren
Esri Contributor
Hi Jamie,

The flickering is caused by so-called z fighting. The graphics card doesn't know which raster to draw first when they are in exactly the same z location. Common 3D problem. Try offsetting the hillshade layer (layer properties -> base height tab) and see if this improves the display. The problem should be less when you are close up and worse when zoomed out.

Cheers Gert
0 Kudos
JamieCarr
New Contributor
Gert- thanks for the tip.  Adding a small offset resolved the problem as soon as I hit the apply button.  Looks like that is my fix.
  Thanks!  Jamie
0 Kudos
AudéoudJean-Guy
New Contributor
Hello,

I actually have the same problem. I'm trying to display two raster layers :

• A - a DEM, color classified display by Jenks x32 (20% transparence)

• B - a hillshade layer

Both are perfectly displaying individually, but when activating both of them, I get the same problem as Jamie: