Flex API vs Flex Viewer API

01-17-2012 02:45 PM
MattGiles
New Contributor
Hello,
I am new to flex api / flex viewer api. I was wondering if someone could explain the potential disadvantages of using the flex viewer api vs flex api.

I have been told that the flex viewer api is configurable, but not customizable (like apps made with flex api)..however i have also read that you can expand the source code provided with the viewer api..very confusing

Also, can flex viewer widgets that are found on arcgis flex api website be used without the viewer??..

Any feedback to clarify would be great!
Cheers.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus
Burns,

The disadvantages of using the Flex Viewer is that to  truely give it a look and feel that is not the standard boilerplate Flex  Viewer look you have to be a GOOD developer to tear apart the code. That  being said that disadvantage is pretty small. The Flex Viewer is a  custom semi MVC framework and not a true MVC pattern. Now that is  assuming that you even know what a MVC pattern is and you want to  develop using one of the popular MVC patterns. Taking the Flex API  samples and using them in the Flex Viewer is not any kind of simple copy  and paste for those copy and paste ninjas.

I have been told that the flex viewer api is configurable, but not customizable (like apps made with flex api)..
  That is completely false. Those that make that statement are the ones  that don't want to take the time to understand the ins and outs of the  Viewer. That being said, customizing the viewer does require a good  working knowledge of it's code if you want to do anything besides a  custom widget.

can flex viewer widgets that are found on arcgis flex api website be used without the viewer??
Honestly, Yes but not without a 50% or more re-write of the code to remove the dependance on the viewers framework.