How to display 1 million points in the Map?

04-21-2011 09:43 AM
SripathiRao
New Contributor
Hi,

I am new to arcGIS. I have requirement to display 1 million points in the Map. Can anyone guide me the efficient way to achieve this?

I have tried by using Graphic Layer by adding Graphic object to GraphicCollection, but it is taking indefinite time to display the points.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in Anticipation,
Sripathi Rao
0 Kudos
16 Replies
wangzhifang
Occasional Contributor
Here's a Chinese blog talk about how to achieve this in several situations, FYI.
http://blog.newnaw.com/?p=633
0 Kudos
SripathiRao
New Contributor
Thanks for the reply.

My requirement needs to display all the million points in the map without using the layers (featurelayer) for clusters. 1 million points must be visible in 40 sq. kms area.

The solution which I got above are using layers to display points as clusters.

Did arcGIS supports this kind of requirement?

Any workaround will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in Anticipation,
Sripathi Rao
0 Kudos
YamunadeviRathinasamy
New Contributor II
I am doing this by the following steps:

1) Stored procedure to get 1million record based on the spatial filter. and it returns "OBJECTID.Convert(varchar(mx),GEOMETRY)"
2) Write WCF to call this procedure and get back the result using Datareader into List<string>
3) Write a parser to parse the geometry string into ESRI.arcGIS.Client.Geometry type
4) Create Graphic with symbol and the parsed geometry
5) Add to the graphics layer.
0 Kudos
IgressT
New Contributor II

1) Stored procedure to get 1million record based on the spatial filter. and it returns "OBJECTID.Convert(varchar(mx),GEOMETRY)"
2) Write WCF to call this procedure and get back the result using Datareader into List<string>
3) Write a parser to parse the geometry string into ESRI.arcGIS.Client.Geometry type

Can you be more specific because I am dealing with just 20,000 points.