'InitializeComponent' is not declared - Expression Blend Error

08-25-2010 03:41 PM
MickClifford
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to Silverlight, and am trying to make use of the code available on the ArcGIS Resource Center.  I am using Microsoft Expression Blend 4 to create a simple map using the ESRI online services.

I have created a new Silverlight Application and Website project in Expression Blend, and then added the code from the Resource Center (http://help.arcgis.com/en/webapi/silverlight/samples/start.htm#Navigation) into the XAML and XAML.VB pages.  I have used the project name for the Namespace, rather than 'ArcGISSilverlightSDK', which is in the online code.

I can view the XAML in the Expression Blend Design view, but when I build the project I get the following error:

Description:  'InitializeComponent' is not declared.  It may be inaccessible due to its protection level.
File:  MainPage.xaml.vb
Project:  SilverlightApplication_Web

The XAML code is:
<UserControl x:Class="SilverlightApplication_Web.MainPage"
    xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
    xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
    xmlns:esri="http://schemas.esri.com/arcgis/client/2009"
    xmlns:i="http://schemas.microsoft.com/expression/2010/interactivity">
    <Grid x:Name="LayoutRoot" Background="White">

<esri:Map x:Name="MyMap" Extent="-130,10,-70,60">
                    <esri:ArcGISTiledMapServiceLayer ID="StreetMapLayer"
                    Url="http://server.arcgisonline.com/ArcGIS/rest/services/ESRI_StreetMap_World_2D/MapServer"/>
             </esri:Map>

<esri:Navigation Margin="5" HorizontalAlignment="Left" VerticalAlignment="Bottom"
                         Map="{Binding ElementName=MyMap}"  >   
     </esri:Navigation>
     </Grid>
</UserControl>

The XAML.VB code is:
Imports Microsoft.VisualBasic
Imports System.Windows.Controls

Namespace SilverlightApplication_Web
Partial Public Class MainPage
    Inherits UserControl