How can I move datasets from ESRI hosted to local Enterprise hosted to save credits?

Jump to solution
02-27-2024 03:30 PM
JR_CHN
by
New Contributor II

I am very new to Enterprise/Online but have been dropped in to manage a few things in the absence of a system administrator, hoping someone can help walk me through something. 

Our organization has hit a limit on credits, but our usage is quite minimal so we shouldn't be spending all our credits.  However, we do have a ton of legacy content items that I need to clean up, as some have not been accessed since 2017, etc.

Before I go deleting some of the unused feature layers and maps, I would also like to move the newer active feature layers and feature services to live on our Enterprise local server as opposed to ESRI's servers, so they are not consuming storage credits that we don't have!  Are there some ESRI Training vids or courses (not instructor led) that can get me ramped up on how to manage this? 

99% of our field work is done offline, so we don't need feature services always available, but do need to be able to download layers for use offline on a tablet, and be able to look up feature attributes in the field.  Not many other technical requirements though.

I'm just not sure where to start, I have watched several ESRI videos and done some of the introductory courses, but so far have not found the magic walkthrough that explains how I can get this done.

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
HenryLindemann
Esri Contributor

Hi @JR_CHN, so what you are looking for is secured services, this is when you download your AGOL HFS and host it on prem and then setup a referenced service.

so these is the steps to reproduce.

Step 1 Preparing the data

Download the HFS as a GDB if you have multiple layers in the GDB please

make sure to note the layer order as this is not preserved, you will have to manually update this.

open the overview page of the hosted feature layer, go to Export Data