Add Hosted Feature Layer to the Map Layer Widget

02-08-2024 11:02 AM
EricMahaffey1
Occasional Contributor

I'm new to using Experience Builder but I've been creating and publishing maps services for many years using ArcGIS Server and even as far back as ArcIMS.  I can't seem to understand why a hosted feature layer is not considered a "supported data type" for the map layer widget in Experience Builder.  Why are feature layers treated any different than a full map service with one or many layers (i.e. a Web Map)?  A hosted feature layer can be viewed in the Portal for ArcGIS Map Viewer and Classic Viewer.  Why can it not be used in a front end generated in Experience Builder?

0 Kudos
2 Replies
FredericPoliart_EsriAU
Occasional Contributor II

Your question touches on the nuances of how different types of GIS data are managed and utilized across various ArcGIS platform components, including ArcGIS Server, ArcGIS Online, and ArcGIS Experience Builder. The distinction between a hosted feature layer and a map service (or a Web Map), and their support in Experience Builder, primarily revolves around how these resources are designed to be used within the ArcGIS ecosystem. Let's break down the key points:

Hosted Feature Layers vs. Map Services

• Hosted Feature Layers are individual datasets stored in ArcGIS Online or Portal for ArcGIS that you can use to display, edit, and analyze spatial data. They are designed for flexibility and ease of use, allowing users to work directly with the individual layers of data.
  • Map Services (or Web Maps when considering ArcGIS Online/Portal for ArcGIS) consist of one or many layers, and they are published as a single service. They are designed to provide a comprehensive view of geographic information, including various layers, symbology, and potentially even metadata and other associated resources.

Integration in ArcGIS Experience Builder