New to automate - anything to be wary of?

05-30-2023 04:03 PM
elpinguino
Occasional Contributor III

Hi community,

I've just gotten access to Microsoft Automate. I used to set up automations with Make/Integromat.

I've set up a flow so every time an S123 record gets submitted a row in an Excel table gets updated in Sharepoint.

Because I'm new to Microsoft Automate I wondered if there's anything I should be wary of? Like would is there the possibility it will eat up a lot of credits because the layer is always being watched?

Or does anyone have any good videos, templates or resources they recommend for Automate/ESRI users?

0 Kudos
13 Replies
AlagiriVenkatachal
Esri Contributor

Hi @elpinguino ,

This may be because the connection (token) may have expired for the Survey 123 trigger to ArcGIS Online and hence it is not able to retrieve the list of surveys into the dropdown. You can check the "Data" > "Connections" menu in Power Automate and find the Survey 123 connection, click the "..." to switch connection and re-authenticate with ArcGIS Online. This should potential fix this issue

RobertAnderson3
MVP Regular Contributor

I had never once had issues with the token expiring until I started using the Create Report function, does the Survey123 token expire on a regular interval? Is it for the trigger or the Report action?

If it keeps expiring that really ruins a bunch of really cool flows I have built. If it is a defined 14 day timeout (that I don't see documented anywhere) are there plans to fix it like the ArcGIS connector Sean is speaking on?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
elpinguino
Occasional Contributor III