Defining map layers in defaultLayout - layers get cleared

01-15-2014 09:05 AM
DannyVenier
New Contributor II
I'm trying to "pre-define" map layers, including a feature layer, in the defaultLayout.xaml configuration file, and/or creating layers dynamically, through C# code during initialization.

I'm not experienced with SharePoint but from tracing event flows, the application loads the defaultLayout, adds the esri:Map and any layers defined in there, but then during initialization, some configuration method calls a clear/reset on the layers collection and subsequently adds layers and content defined through the sharepoint/arcgis user interface (via add content, browse, add map layer etc).

It seems that the layers/content defined through the SharePoint UI supersedes anything defined in the layout (by clearing when it starts to load) yet I have no idea where the UI-defined layers are stored (I would assume  a XAML or XML config file but there are no files in our SP argis configuration files folder that hold that).  Configuring an XML file where the UI-defined stuff is stored would be just as suitable for my purposes but I can't find any such configuration.  Even doing it programmatically would be fine, but that goes away too unless I wait for a map loaded event to fire and for some unknown reason, it doesn't fire until I add a UI element to a container on the map, and I want to load earlier than that because there's a bit of data to load for the feature layer.

So the questions ....  Is there a config file that is accessible, and editable that holds the UI-defined content/layers definition?  If not, will deleting all the UI-defined ones prevent the config loader from clearing the layer collection on initialization? 

I'm open to any suggestion to meet my objective which is to create some layers, in particular a feature layer, in the initialization phase, layers that are not defined through the SharePoint/ArcGIS UI.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks,