Arc GIS Mobile 10 from desktop to laptop without Server??

10-25-2010 01:53 PM
jessebelcher
New Contributor
I was under the impression that i could publish mobile projects to be used with mobile from Arc Desktop. All the help files i have looked at reference server. I am looking at buying server next year. I am brand new to 10 and mobile but not ESRI so what am I missing.
0 Kudos
11 Replies
DeniseKing
Esri Regular Contributor
Hi,

Yes it is possible to use ArcGIS Mobile 10 without ArcGIS Server via ArcGIS Desktop 10 licenses. Below are some resources I recommend you start with, particularly the 3 ArcGIS Mobile videos available on Esri's ArcGIS Mobile Resource Center, http://resources.arcgis.com/gallery/video/arcgis-mobile 
1 - Using ArcGIS Mobile with ArcGIS Desktop
2 -  What is Mobile Project Center
3 - How to Create a Mobile Project

ArcGIS Mobile 10 Build 2475 updated download on CCP (latest recommended build)
https://customers.esri.com/index.cfm?event=login.show

ArcGIS 10.0 Desktop �?? Add GlobalIDs in ArcView patch (required for editing in ArcGIS Mobile 10 using ArcView license)
  http://resources.arcgis.com/content/patches-and-service-packs?fa=viewPatch&PID=43&MetaID=1654

ArcGIS Mobile Blog
  http://blogs.esri.com/Dev/blogs/mobilecentral/default.aspx

ArcGIS Mobile Resource Center
http://resources.arcgis.com/content/arcgis-mobile/10.0/about

I believe the above information will get you started with ArcGIS Mobile 10 in Desktop environment. Please let me know if you need further assistance or have specific question I can help with.

Thanks,
Denise

0 Kudos
jessebelcher
New Contributor
Ok i have gone through all the info you have provided. The only thing i got out of it was how to use arc toolbox to make map cache from my mxd. I cannot add my own base-map layer only the ones that ESRI provide? (thank you by the way)  How do i add or make my feature classes editable with mobile.