Create Mobile Map from ArcObjects or Python

10-06-2010 11:50 PM
AndersWallberg
New Contributor II
I would like to automate the Mobile map creation in ArcGIS 10 from ArcObjects or Python, but can not get any of them to work. As far as I can see there is't a GPTool available for Mobile Tools in ArcObjects or am I wrong?

When I did not find it possible to use ArcObjects for this I started to look at Python. I am new to Python so maybe I am doing some misstakes here. From the Python window in ArcMap I got this simple script to work after I disabled the Background Processing option i Geoprocessing options:
##################
import arcpy
arcpy.CreateMobileMap_mobile("c:/Temp/MyMxd.mxd", "c:/Temp", "","","","")
##################

But I cant get a similar code to work in a stand alone Python script:
##################
import arceditor
import arcpy
from arcpy import env

arcpy.SetProduct("ArcEditor")

arcpy.env.scratchWorkspace = r"C:\Documents and Settings\WMUser\My Documents\ArcGIS\Default.gdb"
arcpy.env.workspace = r"C:\Documents and Settings\WMUser\My Documents\ArcGIS\Default.gdb"

map_document = r"c:\Temp\MyMxd.mxd"
output_folder = r"c:\Temp"

arcpy.CreateMobileMap_mobile(map_document, output_folder,"#", "#", "#", "#")
##################

The script does not generate any errors and I can not se any errors in the C:\Documents and Settings\WMUser\Application Data\ESRI\Desktop10.0\ArcToolbox\History log either.

Any help would be appreciated.

Anders
21 Replies
ABEBEDEMEKE1
New Contributor
Dear All,

Have you had any news about this issue ?

Even after the SP1, when I run the "CreateMobileMap_mobile" geoprocessing from dotnet code, it returns successful and 3 temporary folders are created in C:\Windows\Temp. Each of them contains the same 3 files: "MapSchema.bin", "MobileCache.db" and "MobileCache.db-journal".

It seems it ignores the output folder parametter I set, and then generate an empty mapcache...

Is there any workarround or fix ?

Best regards,

Hi,