No Forum for GPS Questions??? Simple GPS (Trimble) question...

10-07-2011 04:22 AM
KevinDoyle
New Contributor II
Precursor: I know this is a GIS forum
Hello all,

I am posting because I was wondering if anyone could help me with question regarding Trimble GPS. I need to know how to change the IP address of the base station the organization I work for currently uses for data correction. I was told I have to "change the download string if in GPS Pathfinder Office", which is cool and all but....I don't know how to do that off the top of my head.

I'm an intern here and am trying to leave a good impression. I know this is a GIS forum but I also know that many people who are familiar with GIS are equally GPS savvy. I'm sure I could ask someone here at the work-place but I feel like this is a task they expect me to know how to do so I figured I'd branch out to available resources before making myself look a total noob.

If noone knows the answer to my question but rather a good forum to post it, please, by all means...

Thanks Again!
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoshWhite
Regular Contributor III
You really should work directly with Trimble or your Trimble distributor on this.  http://www.trimble.com/technical-support.aspx

I have Trimble and Pathfinder office but this is more technical than I go.  Whenever I have any problems, I just contact my distributor (Seiler Instrument out of St. Louis) and get my questions answered that way. 

Find your distributor here: http://www.trimble.com/locator/locator.aspx
Josh White, AICP
Principal Planner

City of Arkansas City
0 Kudos
KevinDoyle
New Contributor II
Thank you for responding!

I am open to this suggestion, however, will my boss be notified by the distributor if I (an intern) contact them?

If that is the case, then I might as well just ask the people at the office.

Any suggestions as to where to look in Pathfinder Office to adjust these settings? (changing a basestation IP address)

Again, thank you for your help.
0 Kudos
JoshWhite