ArcGIS javascript API Update Records of a Feature Layer

Jump to solution
10-13-2013 07:55 PM
yufeizhuang
New Contributor
I'm new to ArcGIS javascript API, now I want to create a feature layer and then add an array of attributes or simply update the array of attributes of a specific field. I only need to replace the original values array as my own array. Is that possible? There's a method: attr(name,value), Can I use this? Can any one give me some hints or code? Thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JanelYang
New Contributor III
Hi,

You can use FeatureLayer.applyEdits(adds?,updates?,deletes?,callback?,errback?). To update the attributes of an existing feature, you need to provide the feature's object ID, create a new Graphic, and make an array of graphics as the input for the updateFeatures parameter. For example:

var attributes = {   OBJECTID: 12,   name: "My name" }; var feature = new Graphic(null, null, attributes);  var updateFeatures = []; updateFeatures.push(feature);  layer.applyEdits(null, updateFeatures, null, function(addResults, updateResults, deleteResults){   console.log('success', updateResults); }, function(error){   console.log('error', error); });

To add new features, use layer.applyEdits(addFeatures, null, null, ...) instead. The process of making an array of graphics as the addFeatures input is similar to the code snippet above, except you don't need to specify OBJECTID.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
JanelYang
New Contributor III
Hi,

You can use FeatureLayer.applyEdits(adds?,updates?,deletes?,callback?,errback?). To update the attributes of an existing feature, you need to provide the feature's object ID, create a new Graphic, and make an array of graphics as the input for the updateFeatures parameter. For example: