Google Basemap in JavaScript app

05-07-2012 08:41 AM
ChrisDickerson
New Contributor
Hey I'm new at JavaScript coding and I've gotten stuck in a project that I'm working on.   I working on using a Google basemap with some operational feature layers.  There is supposed to be a zoom to feature from a list, but it isn't working all that well.  When I click some items it works, but others are taking me to the middle of Africa rather than where it should be in Milwaukee.  It recently came to my attention that I may need to change my spatial reference.

I'm wondering if someone might be able to tell me what spatial reference "wkid" code to use with a Google basemap.

thanks
0 Kudos
14 Replies
ChristopherPollard
Occasional Contributor
Chris,
I added your map service into the zoom to datagrid ESRi sample:
http://help.arcgis.com/en/webapi/javascript/arcgis/help/jssamples_start.htm#jssamples/fl_zoomgrid.ht...

Zooming to buildings work for some but not all.. it seems like some of the building from the map service are not drawing correct?
Clicking on Downer Woods,Engleman Stadium and a few others does nothing.

Your best bet is to try a get the ESRI sample to work 1st with your data and map service before you try and mash it into the sample with Google Basemap Sample.
When I first starting working with the ArcGIS API for Javascript I would find the sample and functionality that I wanted and modify the code/map service to use my data.
Once I had all the samples that I needed I would then build my web application from mashing together the samples and functionality that I needed for the web app.
This might help you get used to working with the code, samples as well as writing and understanding javascript....

Good luck,

FYI.. my sample code doesn't include the zoom to button image..
0 Kudos
ChrisDickerson
New Contributor
Thanks