JS API Dojo AMD - Need a good way to code methods\fucntions without spaghetti code.

08-24-2015 12:18 PM
MikeCrook
New Contributor III

I'm using JS API Dojo AMD's require function (one require function that drive everything). The function is expanding more and more with each control that I add. I don't want this becoming uncontrollable and getting out-of-hand. Any good manageable way to handle something like this? I'm by no means an expert JS developer. Any help is appreciated.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
TimWitt2
MVP Alum

A lot of people like to list them one at a time and divided into categories (dojo, esri...)

require([
"esri/map", 

"esri/layers/ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer", /// All the layers
"esri/layers/ImageParameters",

"esri/dijit/BasemapToggle", /// All the dijits
"esri/dijit/HomeButton",

"dojo/on", /// All the Dojo
"dojo/dom",
"dojo/domReady!"],
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I'd start reading some of Rene Rubalcava​ blogs here on GeoNet: GeoDev Adventures​ One recent post talked about beginning to modularize your code: Thinking in modules

There are more posts on his personal blog, in addition.

ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

I second modularizing your code. Also, regarding modules, you can specify multiple package locations to further compartmentalize:

Configuring Dojo with dojoConfig - Archived Tutorial - Dojo Toolkit

var dojoConfig = {
  packages: [
       "package1",
       "package2"
  ],
  paths: {
       package1: "../lib/package1",
       package2: "/js/package2"
  }
};

// ...is equivalent to:
var dojoConfig = {
       { name: "package1", location: "../lib/package1" },
       { name: "package2", location: "/js/package2" }
  ]
};

Oh, and one more thing - regarding adding more requires in your main module, you can group like Tim suggests. I simply keep them sorted alphabetically - you can just throw it in Excel with the module name you gave and sort to keep the ordering in synch.

TracySchloss
Frequent Contributor