calculating driving distances

05-19-2011 10:21 AM
DANIELWEBSTER
New Contributor
hello,

i am new to arcgis and am trying to calculate the driving distances between 2 sets of xy coordinates.

i have a data set with 5 columns--id, x-origin, y-origin, x-destination, y-destination--and would like to create a new showing the driving distance between the respective xy coordinates.

i was told that this might be possible using network analyst but have never worked with that tool.

any help would be appreciated!

Daniel
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
25 Replies
XiaominRuan
New Contributor
If you only need to know the location and distance then use the OD Cost Matrix solver. But if you need the actual route to be shown then continue to use Closest Facility.

To solve your problem of finding ONE closest hospital, set a cutoff distance or time, say 60 miles or 60 minutes.
(i.e.. what ever is reasonable in your case).
Turn off hierarchy.
Set number of facilities to find as 1.
Solve.

it should work with 50,000 incidents and 10,000 facilities.
If it does not, can you report back to how far it gets or what error message is reported.

Also, If you are using these points over and over again, I will suggest that you run the GP tool, Calculate Locations on your hospitals and patients so that you can load them by network locations (not geometry) into a new network layer.

Jay Sandhu

Now I understand more about what you are talking. Really helpful! Thanks. I just hope it will work with more than million patients in one SOLVE.

Have a nice weekend!

Xiaomin
0 Kudos
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor
I think it may not work with one million patients. I will suggest that you split it into 10 solves of 100,000 patients each, write out the results and combine them at the end.

Couple of other things you can do is to run ArcGIS on a windows 64 bit machine with 4 GB RAM. On a 32 bit OS, the maximum memory it can use is 2 GB but on a 64 bit OS it can use 4 GB.