Scheduled Notebook sometimes exceeds execution timeout - help on debugging

07-13-2023 02:30 AM
Labels (1)
MappyIan
Occasional Contributor II

Hi there, I'm fairly new to Notebooks and need some help debugging one that fails sporadically.

I've created a Notebook (in ArcGIS Online) that has four main steps:

1. backs up a hosted feature layer view to a temporary FGDB
  2. appends the data from the temporary FGDB to a separate hosted feature layer
  3. updates the records added to the hosted feature layer to add a date/timestamp
  4. deletes the temporary FGDB

I've scheduled this Notebook to run every 15 minutes (which is the greatest frequency possible).

It's been running for a month (I initially set it off on June 14th), but sometimes fails to complete successfully.  Twice in the last week it's failed to run on multiple successive runs and has been disabled automatically by ArcGIS Online.  I've added try/except statements around all bits of code that are doing something, e.g. in the function to export an item to a temporary FGDB as shown below:

def backup_item_as_fgdb(itemid):
item = gis.content.get(itemid)
try:
result = item.export(item.title + "_backup_" + now_dt(), "File Geodatabase", tags= "VEL occupancy backup", snippet="Backup of {} taken on {}".format(item.title,dt.datetime.now().strftime("%c")))
print("VEL occupancy data successfully exported to FGDB.")
except:
print("An error occurred exporting the data to an FGDB: " + item.title)
try:
# move exported file to relevenat folder (in my ArcGIS Online account)
result.move(agol_backup_folder)
print("Temporary FGDB backup file successfully moved to folder: " + agol_backup_folder)
except:
print("An error occurred moving the FGDB backup to the specified folder: " + agol_backup_folder)
return result.id

But when it fails, I don't get any useful messages out of the task details view for the failed task, the errors block just says:

"errors": [
      "",