Unable to install Cartopy in online Notebook

04-14-2023 01:35 PM
Labels (1)
PeterDouglas
New Contributor II

Hello,

I'm trying to use a sample notebook to generate a report from a feature layer in Arc Online/Field Maps, and run into trouble when I try to import Carotpy.  I get ModuleNotFoundError: No module named "Cartopy'.  After looking around it seems like one solution would be installing conda, though I'm not sure how to do that with an online Notbook and the sample I have does not mention anything about that.  I'm new to python and any direction would be greatly appreciated.  The code for this is:

import cartopy.crs as ccrs
%matplotlib agg
import cartopy.crs as ccrs
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
from cartopy.io.img_tiles import GoogleTiles
​
def create_map(feature):
    fig=plt.figure(figsize=(5,5))
    url = 'https://server.arcgisonline.com/ArcGIS/rest/services/World_Street_Map/MapServer/tile/{z}/{y}/{x}.jpg'
    image = GoogleTiles(url=url)
    ax = fig.add_subplot(1,1,1, projection=image.crs)
    ax.add_image(image, 15)
    xmin = feature["geometry"]["x"] - 500
    xmax = feature["geometry"]["x"] + 500
    ymin = feature["geometry"]["y"] - 500
    ymax = feature["geometry"]["y"] + 500
    ax.set_extent([xmin, xmax, ymin, ymax], crs=image.crs)
    ax.scatter(feature["geometry"]["x"], feature["geometry"]["y"],
         color='green', linewidth=2, marker='o'
         )
    io_bytes = io.BytesIO()
    plt.savefig(io_bytes,  format='jpeg', bbox_inches='tight')
    io_bytes.seek(0)
    return base64.b64encode(io_bytes.read()).decode()
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
ModuleNotFoundError                       Traceback (most recent call last)
Input In [6], in <cell line: 2>()
      1 get_ipython().run_line_magic('matplotlib', 'agg')
----> 2 import cartopy.crs as ccrs
      3 import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
      4 from cartopy.io.img_tiles import GoogleTiles

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'cartopy'
4 Replies