Is it possible to have both choropleth and circles displayed at the same time?

10-30-2023 07:35 AM
Labels (2)
Jackbigs
New Contributor II

Hello there, 

Apologies if this has been asked before or if it's something obvious. I'm new to trying to learn how to use ARCGIS as it seems to be more advanced in its capabilities. Anyways, I was wondering if it's at all possible to have both a choropleth/fill map also have circles on it. To clarify I'm trying to show a count of callers from each county as well as by specific zip codes and have both visually represented at the same time. I'm mostly trying to figure out if this is possible within Power BI but if it can be done online then I assume I could transfer it over to a dashboard? Any help, suggestions or directions to this information would be greatly appreciated. 

thanks!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
bbollin
Esri Contributor

Hi @Jackbigs, yes it is possible to display a map using color and size but you need to have the correct types of variables to apply the style. In this example I have the cities layer selected, then I clicked on Styles. From here I clicked on the + Field button where you can add one or more fields to represent on your map. Once I selected my POP2000 field, I applied the Color and Size style.

bekahbollin_0-1698697494977.png

You can learn more about what styles are supported and how by viewing the table in this documentation: https://doc.arcgis.com/en/arcgis-online/create-maps/apply-styles-mv.htm

0 Kudos
Jackbigs
New Contributor II

Appreciate your reply! So would it be possible to do something like... Show a choropleth by county that shows, for example, food insecurity rates and then use circles to show locations of food banks within that county?

0 Kudos
bbollin
Esri Contributor
Absolutely @Jackbigs! I'm not sure how your dataset is structured, but I would have two separate layers in my map like this:

1: Food bank location points
2: County polygons