Converting geoJSON to .lyrx file to set symbology (heatmap) using arcpy

12-12-2023 08:16 PM
MayaWood
New Contributor

Hi everyone,

I am new to ArcGIS Pro and related softwares. I currently am using FME to extract data and convert it into a geoJSON file to visualise on ArcGIS Pro. This plots the points. When using arcGIS pro, I need to import it using the JSON to Features tool. Visually, I want the data as a heat map, therefore I can click my data and set the 'Symbology' of it to Heat Map (rather than Single Point). 

This is the goal. Although, I want it all automated and have just a .lyrx file for people to drag-drop it into ArcGIS Pro and it is already formatted as a Heat Map - I have tested this by generating a layer and opening it separately through drag-drop. I am currently using arcpy to achieve this. My python script currently converts my geoJSON file to a feature class using gdb, although my next step now is to set the symbology. I want to attempt to do this by creating a new lyrx file without an existing temp one (if possible - otherwise editing a template lyrx is an option).

I have been researching a lot but can't seem to find a direct lead on how to do it, or some say it's not possible in arcpy. I want to confirm if this is possible and if so, how to do it. Thank you!

Below is an example of what I want the output to be:

heatmap.png

0 Kudos
1 Reply
CQuick
by
New Contributor II

Hi Maya,

I have done something sort of similar so I can share that and it may help you. This would work really well if you have standard heatmaps that can all use a template with identical settings, but there is no reason you can't adjust things to fit a more complex arrangement.