'super' object has no attribute '_ipython_display_'

12-30-2022 07:17 AM
Labels (1)
AlastorBloode
New Contributor

I'm still learning ArcGIS, but I immediately came upon an issue while trying to get everything set up. This is from the very first tutorial, as well.

The code is very simple. It simply displays a map. 

from arcgis.gis import GIS
gis = GIS()
m = gis.map()
m

However, I'm getting an error message from this code. 

FWIW, I installed everything using pip, and I'm in the virtualenvironment that everything was installed into using a jupyter notebook and vs code. I tried it in jupyter lab, just to make sure, but I got the same error. 

AttributeError                            Traceback (most recent call last)
File c:\Users\AlastorBloode\SpanWalker App\ent\lib\site-packages\IPython\core\formatters.py:920, in IPythonDisplayFormatter.__call__(self, obj)
    918 method = get_real_method(obj, self.print_method)
    919 if method is not None:
--> 920     method()
    921     return True

File c:\Users\AlastorBloode\SpanWalker App\ent\lib\site-packages\arcgis\widgets\_mapview\_mapview.py:948, in MapView._ipython_display_(self)
    942 """Override the parent ipython display function that is called
    943 whenever is displayed in the notebook. Display a blank area
    944 below the map widget that can be controlled via a display handler
    945 set to self._preview_image_display_handler.
    946 """
    947 self._setup_gis_properties(self.gis)
--> 948 super(MapView, self)._ipython_display_()
    949 self._preview_image_display_handler = display(
    950     HTML(self._assemble_img_preview_html_str("")),
    951     display_id="preview-" + str(self._uuid),
    952 )
    953 self._preview_html_embed_display_handler = display(
    954     HTML(self._assemble_html_embed_html_str("")),
    955     display_id="preview-html-" + str(self._uuid),
    956 )

AttributeError: 'super' object has no attribute '_ipython_display_'