What is the future of ArcCatalog in future Pro versions?

02-10-2015 11:59 AM
RenatoSalvaleon
Occasional Contributor III

Unless I missed it, there's several Administration features in current ArcCatalog that are not available in Pro, specially the ones for geodatabases, e.g., Manage and Administer which is slightly different for each type of data objects.

81 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

I understand what you're saying Curtis.  As an Esri Instructor, I don't have much say in how product development cycles run - we too have a flurry of workflow updates for training materials once a new ArcGIS Pro release is available.  If I had to guess, the 2.0/2.1 releases will be major releases and then from there maturity of software, etc.  Let me know if you have any questions.

0 Kudos
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor

As an instructor I bet this is a huge problem for you as well! When the product team asks you around the virtual water cooler, you can say it came from a customer (me) to give it more weight, haha.

Yes, as Pro matures this problem won't be as bad. Looking forward to the coming performance improvements of hardware (and the software)... so far I can only really use the thing on a just-off-the-rack machine.

0 Kudos
SteveLewis
Occasional Contributor

Here's my wishlist for ArcPro.  Thanks

1. Allow user to open as many ArcPro instances as they want. Constraining it to a single instance won't work. We often have several ArcMap projects open for days-weeks waiting for more information. It would be nice to open and project and finish it but that's not how it works.
  2. Add ArcCatalog like features
  3. Add registry keys to where you last got data so you don't have to start off at My Computer again.
  4. Give us back context menus for things like adding grids to a layout view.  Even ESRI instructors struggle to find such tools.  
  5. Allow for adding your own data even if you don't have a local or global map added.