[NewBee] Convert X Y to Lat Long Programmatically (or Free)

Jump to solution
04-07-2023 01:01 PM
AbhishekSrivastava2
New Contributor II

Hello All,

Today is the first day I heard about ArcGIS so please bear with me. I am a javascript developer trying to build a hobby project. I was looking for a list of all trailheads in Washington state and found this CSV 

https://hub.arcgis.com/datasets/wa-geoservices::watrailheads-all/about

I downloaded it and it gave me exactly what I was looking for (yay!). However instead of giving me latitude and longitude it gave me arcgis X and Y values.

is there an API which will convert this to a normal lat and long which can be used by google maps?

Please bear with me. I don't have any money to buy arcgis. so please help me how can I achieve that I am trying to do.

Or perhaps is there a way I can install a "free" tool on my Mac which will import this CSV and export another one with lat/long?

Edit:: So I googled a lot and based on everything I found I wrote this python program

from arcgis.gis import GIS
from arcgis.geocoding import reverse_geocode
from arcgis.geometry import from_geo_coordinate_string
gis = GIS()
location = [-118.504999000172, 48.505501999717]
 new_location = reverse_geocode(location)
 print(new_location)

But the output still contains X,Y and not Lat Long.