Once I start a survey and it becomes an active layer within Arc/GIS Online, is there a way for me to add data to the survey table from an exisiting database?

08-02-2016 07:29 AM
KyleRosenberg
New Contributor II

Seem I am having trouble adding data to a a Survey123 generated databse.  Is there a way to add data from an existing database (XLS/CSV etc) to an database generated from a Survey123 survey?

Thanks!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
GaryBowles1
Occasional Contributor III

ArcGIS Pro works real well for adding data to a feature service created with Survey123.

--gary

0 Kudos
KyleRosenberg
New Contributor II

Does Arc GIS Pro work within Arc GIS Online or desktop?

0 Kudos
GaryBowles1
Occasional Contributor III

Desktop

0 Kudos
KyleRosenberg
New Contributor II

Ok, Thank you.  This is my first time thru with Survey123 and Portal so I will be on a steep learning curve.  Appreciate your comments Gary!

0 Kudos
TerryIffland
Occasional Contributor

Is there another way besides ArcGIS Pro? My company has not implemented ArcGIS Pro, yet.  And, I have some users that don't have the GIS experience to learn Pro. 

It would be great if there was some way to do this in AGOL.

0 Kudos
CarmelConnolly
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Terry, 

Do you have access to ArcMap? Data can be added by bulk to the Survey123 feature service by Making a local copy of a feature service for editing—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

Users can add points individually to a Survey123 feature service through any Editing apps/Web Map viewer in ArcGIS Online.

Carmel

0 Kudos
TerryIffland
Occasional Contributor

I do have access to ArcMap, but I cannot make this a local database as others may be working in the feature layer at the same time.

It may be helpful to explain what I'm trying to do...