How to include custom widget into ArcGIS Viewer for Flex Application Builder

01-09-2013 07:39 AM
Udaya_BhaskerCheerala
New Contributor
Hi All,

I am new to flex development. I have developed a simple widget which shows a map coordinates on map click, using "Source code for Flex Viewer 3.0" in Flash bulder 4.7.

now I would like to include the above widget into ArcGIS Viewer for Flex Application Builder 3.1. When I added it has been added successfully but when I click on widget nothing is shown, where as in flash builder it is working fine.

please suggest me how to resolve this issue.

Thanks,
Uday
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
SarthakDatt
Occasional Contributor III
Have you looked at this: Packaging Custom Widgets for Application Builder

Also, please post Viewer/Builder related questions under: http://forums.arcgis.com/forums/111-ArcGIS-Viewer-for-Flex
0 Kudos
GISDev1
1. Export Release Build in Flash Builder
2. go to bin-release folder, copy the widget's folder that you created.
3. paste that folder in the other flex app. that was created by the app. builder.
4. add reference to that widget in your config.xml
0 Kudos
Udaya_BhaskerCheerala
New Contributor
Thank you very much for the quick reply.

I have followed the above steps but no luck. could you please suggest me another alternate.

Thanks,
Uday
0 Kudos
GISDev1
If my steps didn't work, then the API and/or SDK versions are not matching between your Flash Builder project and your App. Builder Flex App.
0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus
Actually it is possible that the widget he is referencing is a layout widget and not supported by the Flex Application Builder.
0 Kudos
GISDev1
Actually it is possible that the widget he is referencing is a layout widget and not supported by the Flex Application Builder.

I don't use the App. Builder at all, but I think my steps didn't involve using the app. builder at all.