Export Geotiff with Alpha using IRasterLayerExport3

02-23-2022 09:00 AM
Richard_Nairn
New Contributor

Hello,

I am trying to bulk process a number of grids and export out geotiffs. I have been able to use IRasterLayerExport3 to create an RGB geotiff. However they all have black for a background as the tiff only saves with 3 bands, rather than having a four band RGBA.  This is my first attempt at using the SDK

I am trying to emulate the ArcPro export raster functionality to save a raster with a color ramp.

The code I currently use looks like this:

IMapDocument pmapDocument = new MapDocument();
IMap pmap;
pmapDocument.Open(layerName);
pmap = pmapDocument.get_Map(0);
ILayer layer = pmap.Layer[0];

IRasterLayer rlayer = layer as IRasterLayer;

IRasterLayerExport3 r3 = (IRasterLayerExport3)r_export;
ISaveAs2 save_as = (ISaveAs2)rlayer;

r3.Force2RGB = true;
r3.NoData = 0;
r3.RasterLayer = rlayer;

IRasterWorkspace out_Workspace = OpenFileWorkspace(wsName);
IWorkspace ow = (IWorkspace)out_Workspace;

r3.Export(ow, outName, "TIFF");

Am I missing another process that I should be using instead of this?

Thanks

0 Kudos
3 Replies
GordonSumerling
Esri Contributor

Hello @Richard_Nairn I like to trial this in interactive form first. I can get this to work with output to JP2's with the following

1. Export the image initially as TIFF.
  2. Load the TIFF image your interested in.
  3. Go to the symbology tab and Set the Mask values to (0,0,0)

GordonSumerling_0-1645653799012.png

1. Create a new area feature class and draw a polygon which has the image extent
  2. Right click the TIFF image in the table of contents and select Export Raster
    1. Set the output name to be <name>.jp2
    2. Select the clipping Geometry
    3. Clipping Type : Outside
    4. Use Renderer
    5. Force RGB
    6. Output format JP2
    7. Compression Quality 75

GordonSumerling_1-1645653824490.png

Output image is a 4 Band JP2 image with Alpha band

Hope this helps. some

Gordon

0 Kudos