view shortlist storymap prior to installing it?

Jump to solution
09-06-2016 05:12 AM
NavaSheer
Occasional Contributor

Is there a way to view my shortlist storymap prior to installing it? I am new to all this developer lingo and I really don't want to upload something to the internet that I can't view and make changes to on the fly like I'm used to with other Story maps.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarkCooney
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Nava,

It appears that is a bug.  We have a fix and will be patching soon, stay tuned and the viewer should properly display your places when the patch goes through.  Sorry for any inconvenience.

Thanks,

Mark

View solution in original post

9 Replies
PatrickMcKinney1

From what I understand, the shortlist storymap can only be self-hosted, although I hear they are working on a cloud-hosted version.

You'll need access to a web server to deploy this app.  You will put the app files in the same directory.  This will probably be done through FTP transfer or in file explorer, depending upon how you connect to your web server.  If you need free hosting to test this app out, you could always create a github account and use github pages.

You will provide the app with your the webmap ID.  This is what will connect the app to the webmap you author.

OwenGeo
Esri Notable Contributor

Hi Nava,

Patrick is correct, there will be a cloud-hosted version of Shortlist available soon -- and by "soon" I mean next week! 🙂

If you can wait a few more days you'll be able to use the new version of Shortlist to create your story using a builder like you can with our other story map apps. Just check the apps page on the story maps website next Wednesday (Sept 14, 2016) and the link to the new Shortlist builder will be there.

Owen

Owen Evans
Lead Product Engineer | StoryMaps
0 Kudos
NavaSheer
Occasional Contributor