Adding Landsats to Mosaic Dataset

11-16-2011 11:03 AM
StephenChignell
New Contributor II
Hi guys, I'm very new to Mosaic Datasets, and am trying to figure out the best way to add a collection of Landsats to one.  The Landsats are all composited/stacked/pan-sharpened, converted to a raster dataset, and clipped to my AOI (just to be clear, I have many images (MSS, TM, AND ETM+) covering the exact same area so I can see changes over the last 40 years).

My end goal is to have these all grouped together so that I can look through each of them, change the band combinations, and run processes like NDVI on them.  Am I right in thinking the Mosaic Dataset will allow me to do this?

Also, I know that there are "Raster Type" options for both Landsat TM and ETM+, but what about the older MSS data? What raster type do I use for that?

If you have any suggestions or ways to point me in the right direction (or know a good tutorial online for this kind of thing), it would help me out a great deal. 

Thanks!
Steve
0 Kudos
4 Replies
MelanieHarlow
Esri Contributor
It sounds like all your Landsat imagery has been processed. You say "composited/stacked/pan-sharpened, converted to a raster dataset, and clipped". So you don't want to use the Landsat raster type. You want to use the Raster Dataset raster type.
If your data was still in its original format, then you'd use the Landsat raster type.
You could follow this, if you had the originals:
Adding a satellite sensor raster type to a mosaic dataset
But instead, you will follow:
Creating a mosaic dataset

At 10.0 Landsat 5 and 7 are supported. At 10.1, there are additional satellites, including support for MSS.
Supported raster types
0 Kudos
StephenChignell
New Contributor II
Thanks for the tip!  I have successfully created the mosaic dataset by following the instructions online, but I still have some problems/questions: