Convert Lat/Long Fields to SDE spatial view and keep it up-to-date

06-06-2010 10:56 PM
GISAnalyst
New Contributor III
Dear All

I have one Oracle table containing Lat/Long seperate fields, and this table is updated (new inserts) daily, and i need to convert these coordinate daynamically to points. and as far as i want these locations to be shown all the times and up-to-date , i want to create an SDE spatial view (as far as its a view and will reflect the up-to-date state of the records).

My proplem is when using the sdetable -o create_view command , i have to add a shape field in order to convert it to spatial view? in my case the coordinates is exists on two columns (lat/long) and not on shapefield?is there anyway that support the idea i just raised?

I know that i can use the Add even theme or convert xy tools available and schedule them based on time interval, but i need something more dynamic.

I hope someone have solution for that (Unfortunatly i am not a programer and i know that this also can be accomplished using webservice (if someone familiar on creating a service that deal with this scenario i wwill appreciate it)

All the best
0 Kudos
7 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
A spatial view requires an existing geometry column; you can't build one on the fly as a
part of view creation.

This task should be fairly easy to accomplish if you're using a modern ArcSDE (one with
ST_GEOMETRY), but if you're not a programmer you're going to need a SQL person to
assist you, since writing the trigger to autopopulate the geometry column can be tricky.

- V
0 Kudos
GISAnalyst
New Contributor III
Dear Vangelo

Thanks for response , do you have any links or similar triggers that i can look at or see.
the layers inside SDE is by default configuerd to use ST_Geometry as Geometry type (as far as it becomes the default geometry storage type (i am using 9.3.1 SDE release))