Editing is not reflected to Real table in sql database

10-09-2012 01:41 AM
OsamaZarour
New Contributor
Hello all,
This is my first time working on GIS , I installed the arcsde and created versions and everything works fine.
But when I edit any feature in arcmap and post the edits to the Default version the changes are reflected to a different table in sql database which starts by the "S" and followed by a number , so my question is how can I reflect the changes to the real table that has the same name as the feature class?

Thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
KevinDunlop
Occasional Contributor III
ArcSDE uses delta tables for versioned data. The business table is created when the FC is created.  When you registar a FC as version two tables are created: A table for adds and D table for deletes.  When you make an edit in ArcMap, the business table is never changed. The delta tables should contain the same fields as your buisness table with a couple additional fields.  Each record in the delta tables has a state value with it.  When ArcMap uses that FC it looks for the most current state value for each feature.

If you:

add a feature:
a new record is added to the A table for the new feature.  The ObjectID in the A table is the next unique available number for that FC.  No records are added to the business table.

delete a feature:
a new record is added to the D table to remove the feature.  The ObjectID in the D table is the feature's ObjectID. 

update/change a feature:
a new record is added to the D table to remove the feature.  Next, a new record is added to A table to reflect the feature's new position/attributes/geometry.  The ObjectID for both records is the feature's ObjectID. State for both A and D records are the same.

When ever a new record is added to either A or D table, the state is next highest available state.  So if a feature has 3 records in the A table and 2 in the D table, ArcMap will only use the records with the highest state.

---