spatial query in Oracle

10-19-2011 04:34 PM
KhoaTran1
New Contributor
I'm trying to get the latitude and longitude of a geometry type point from an Oracle database. I've successfully set up the Oracle client to use sqlplus, get connected to the database through command line.

Using ArcCatalog, the data type of my column (stop_pos) is GEOMETRY (Geometry Type: Point). However, when I do a 'DESCRIBE' through sqlplus, the type of the stop_pos column is NUMBER(38), which according to my understanding is the stop_pos.fid since I did a "SELECT stop_pos from MY_TABLE;", it gave me a list of id, equivalent to the stop_pos.fid in ArcCatalog.

According to my understanding, there should be another table other than MY_TABLE in charge of handling spatial data. I've looked at "ST_GEOMETRY" and "SDO_GEOMETRY." Some posts even mentioned about USER_SDO_GEOM_METADATA but I'm unable to find any table or column with those names. I'm new to these stuff and wonder if anyone can give me a SELECT statement example query which I can get the lat and lon of the point (in my example, it was stop_pos).
0 Kudos
7 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
In order to use the coordinate properties of an object-relational geometry type you need to *use*
an object-relational geometry type.  Your layer is using SDEBINARY or SDELOB storage (which use
an integer key to Fn and Sn tables), not ST_GEOMETRY or SDO_GEOMETRY.  If you execute the
'sdelayer -o describe_long' command on the table, you will see the storage format.

The default storage option is set in the DEFAULTS keyword of the DBTUNE table, but the default
DBTUNE contains keywords which will generate all supported storage types (this can be changed
by the administrator, so there's no guarantee that's still the case in your instance).  While it's
possible to convert storage type to SDELOB, ST_GEOMETRY, or SDO_GEOMETRY, I generally
recommend creating a new table and transferring the contents to this table (there are many