How do I select a computer for ArcGIS Pro Spatial Analysis

Jump to solution
12-05-2023 08:20 AM
RonaldHaug
Occasional Contributor II

Hi I am looking for a used medium level computer less than $1000 to do spatial analysis with. Does anyone have recommendations for a computer with an intel  i7 9th or 10th generation chip, a GPU with CUDA, an adequate power supply, and a terrabyte of storage?  What are the relative merits / drawbacks of using a hard drive, solid state storage, and nvme solid state storage? I'm not an electrical engineer but what I have seen is the faster chips use more power and generate more heat when running programs, and they need an adequate power supply and cooling. I would rather have an adequately fast machine which doesn't use too much power and generates maximum heat around  55 degrees celsius. Is it better to buy a tower rather than a small form factor or laptop?

Thank you! I appreciate your carefully considered opinions and experiences.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Brian_Wilson
Occasional Contributor III

2. Maybe they mean they have to replace the cards to keep up, if the person does a lot of gaming, the card is a crucial part and they want the latest to remain competitive? I have no idea. They are hardware and they don't wear out. Just get obsolete. Like my Quadro 2000 whatever workstation card that I paid too much for 🙂

3. CUDA is a particular architecture just like ARM vs Intel for CPUs. You can't run CUDA code on an AMD board because the GPU architecture is different.

4. Esri employees I've asked over the years are cagey about what video card to buy. They say "any fast gamer card is fine." They used to have a list of suggested cards but they took that down maybe 10 years ago. Autocad on the other hand has a database of officially supported cards.

Autocad is all about rendering lines. GIS is now a grey area with 3D and animations and lots of mixed rending of rasters and vectors.