New to ArcMap VBA

02-08-2016 11:55 AM
EthanDunker
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am new to ArcMap VBA coding and was wondering if there is any good websites to help me understand what I am doing wrong. I have a basic knowledge of VBA for coding in access.

thanks in advance

0 Kudos
31 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

I can't answer that either but I bet one of these guys will chime in :

Darren Wiens

Xander Bakker

[edit] take a look here too:  Another GIS Blog: Using pyODBC to Connect To Access with ArcPy

That should just about do it....
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Skip access, export to csv format, then anything can read it.

As you move forward from the python 2.7 etc to python 3.4 and ArcGIS PRO and ... dare I suggest ... maybe even 10.4, you have access to Pandas and Numpy

Importing Access files

or just bring it into Arc* for use there.

EthanDunker
New Contributor II

Here's what I am looking for with access. I have created a database of all of my company's work orders and their location in the county. So currently I am trying to create a tool that when you click on that location on the map. it opens access to that location in the form that has been created. Is this possible with Python? If so I am more then willing to attempt to learn that. As I do prefer to use the most current things. 

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If you migrate your database into ArcMap, then it could be as simple as using the Info button or as complex as you like.. either through Arcpy functions and/or python.  I just don't know what level of experience you have with ArcMap and I am not sure if you want to migrate your data into a new form

0 Kudos
EthanDunker
New Contributor II

I don't have much experience at all with ArcMap. I just started working with it 2 weeks ago. About all I can do it link a access table and have it display different symbols based on different values.

0 Kudos
MarkBryant
New Contributor III