Select to view content in your preferred language

How I started my GIS career

04-05-2024 09:39 AM
Labels (3)
Tony_DLR22
New Contributor III

Hello fellow GIS enthusiasts! Like many of you, my primary goal during college was securing a job, so I combed all the job boards you can think of. I wasn't the top student or the most outgoing, but I possessed a strong work ethic and was determined to excel if given the chance.

Stepping out of my comfort zone, I attended several conferences and GIS-related events. Randomly approaching people didn't come natural to me, but I embraced the mantra of "fake it till you make it." After numerous applications and networking efforts, I landed a promising interview opportunity! It was with a Crime Analyst whom I had met at a local GIS Day Event. They were looking to offer me an internship opportunity and sought to offer me the position after a formal interview process.

Fast forward to today, I have over 7 years of professional GIS experience in local government/utility sectors. I’m a one-person GIS team managing a complete Enterprise GIS. I’ve also had the privilege of presenting my work at various GIS conferences/events.

Here are some key takeaways from my journey so far:

1. Network, Network, Network!!: Every job offer I've received stemmed from a face-to-face connection.
  2. Remain coachable: Maintain a positive attitude, and smile. People are drawn to those who exhibit enthusiasm and positivity.
  3. Embrace Challenges:  Technology is ever-changing so you're always learning something new to stay ahead. I like the saying "If you're not making mistakes, then you're refusing to learn anything new".

Feel free to connect if you share a similar experience or would like to chat! https://www.linkedin.com/in/antonio-de-la-rosa

10 Replies
RosemaryBoone
Esri Regular Contributor