Selecting Features from DataSource

Jump to solution
02-09-2024 05:09 PM
Labels (2)
PartyPelican
New Contributor III

Hello!

I am trying to create a widget that can select multiple layers based on a click event and show them in a series of tabs with a feature widget inside, however, I am new to development in experience builder. Currently I establish a click event listener on the map view and when the view is clicked, I query each FeatureLayerDataSource that is saved in state. I want to be able to select those results on the map but when I use datasource.selectRecordsByIds() with the object ids of the results, I dont see any highlighting on the map, and it appears as though my component renders twice. Its not clear to me why but you can see in the console that the tabs for each datasource gets rendered twice upon the click. This only happens when I use that selectRecordsByIds() method. Does anyone have any advice on how I can fix this or what I can do to make this work properly?

I appreciate any feedback, thank you.

PartyPelican_0-1707527257062.png

2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
PartyPelican
New Contributor III

I was on the right track with the selectRecordsByIds() method, I just forgot to pass in the array of records to select from as the second parameter. Once I did that, the feature was highlighted in the map. 

PartyPelican_0-1707958801549.png

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
PartyPelican
New Contributor III

If anyone is interested, I have attached the working widget. I am still developing it and will share it again once I have made more improvements. Feel free to refactor the code and suggest ways to make it better. 

Currently, you can supply it layers to select from on a mouse click (the mouse click uses a 10 ft buffer). The selection is applied to the data source so the selection can be seen by other widgets like the table widget. 

Update:

I did some refactoring and added the option to change the buffer radius and units.