Data Driven Pages python help!

04-05-2013 10:27 AM
RyanMiller
New Contributor III
I am attempting to export a set of maps using python and data driven pages. I have been successful in getting the code to work but I am struggling with the file naming of the exported JPEG's. I need to the file names to coincide with a field in the attribute table. Basically I am making a set of parcel maps, and need the file name to be ONLY the parcel number (PARCEL_NO). Here is the code I am using. I am a novice when it comes to this stuff so please be patient. Thanks in advance!

import arcpy
mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT")
for pageNum in range(1, mxd.dataDrivenPages.pageCount + 1):
    mxd.dataDrivenPages.currentPageID = pageNum
    pageID = mxd.dataDrivenPages.getPageIDFromName("PARCEL_NO")
    arcpy.mapping.ExportToJPEG(mxd, r"P:\Township Maps\Bloomingdale\JPEG" + pageName + ".jpeg", resolution=100)
del mxd
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoelCalhoun
New Contributor III
Without seeing how your DDP is actually set up I can't be sure but you could try something like this:

import arcpy
    fieldValue = mxd.dataDrivenPages.pageRow.PARCEL_NO
    fieldValue = str(fieldValue)
    arcpy.mapping.ExportToJPEG(mxd, r"P:\Township Maps\Bloomingdale\JPEG" + fieldValue + ".jpeg", resolution=100)
del mxd
0 Kudos
BruceRea
New Contributor

Thanks for the discussion on this!  And thank you Joel Calhoun, pageRow fixed my situation perfectly. 

0 Kudos
RyanMiller
New Contributor III
Ok sorry.  What do you need from me?
0 Kudos
CPoynter
Occasional Contributor III
Not sure, but you have a variable pageID, but then don't use it in code.

I have substituted into code to make it look like:

import arcpy
    pageID = mxd.dataDrivenPages.getPageIDFromName("PARCEL_NO")
    arcpy.mapping.ExportToJPEG(mxd, r"P:\Township Maps\Bloomingdale\JPEG" + "\" + pageID + ".jpeg", resolution=100)
del mxd