How to input more than 1 shapefile in model builder

11-18-2017 12:42 AM
AkhilChhibber1
New Contributor II

I am new to GIS modelbuilder. I have 3 shapefiles and for 3 of them:

1.) I want to make a buffer
2.) Project the coordinate system
3.) Multipart to single

What I want to do is apple these tools in my model to more than 1 shapefile(suppose 3) and output the same(i.e. 3) shapefiles with applied tools(as per the 3 mentioned tools above)

0 Kudos
8 Replies
AbdullahAnter
Occasional Contributor III

Frist put the three shape files alone inside one folder.

Then design your model as the following picture:

Insert : Iterate Feature Classes (and define the folder path) , then connect  shapefile with  the first tool (buffer) then the second tool ..etc

Make the Workspace of iteration tool as a parameter (shape files folder in the picture) , and make the final output as parameter to define the path of the result of model.

AkhilChhibber1
New Contributor II

The result you told is helpful but this is the case in which we know which shapefiles we need to run the process on.

Suppose I have random shapefiles may be 2 or 4 or 7 and I want to run this model i.e. all the processed included in the model, how would I do.

Please help me out. i would be thankful to you for this.

0 Kudos
AkhilChhibber1
New Contributor II

ITERATOR

I tried using the method as per your reply. But the issue which I am facing is that in Iterator only one shapefile is selected i.e. bld2plot. I have 4 shapefiles in the folder which I selected from Iterate Feature but still only I shapefile is coming as per the screenshot above specifically marked in red circle.

0 Kudos
AbdullahAnter
Occasional Contributor III

Frist , connect the output of Iteration with the first input process.

in your case connect the output of iteration with input of project and remove the parameter (Define shape file). And make the workspace of iteration as parameter.