How to copy a column of numbers into a new column of text data type

07-01-2015 08:41 AM
DanHoralík
New Contributor II

Hi, I'm a total amateur in ArcGIS. Can you please help me?

I have a table with a column in the "Double" data type. There are 6-digit numbers. Then I have another column (in the same table), which is empty and its data type is "Text, Length 6".

I need to copy the numbers from the first column into the second column. How do I do that?

I'm sorry, I even don't know if this is the right place to give this question.

0 Kudos
23 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Okay, so you just typed in the field name using Josh's method and it failed since it was expecting brackets on the field names.

Are you sure that 500620 was actually 500620 and not 500620.4?  The double field maybe only be showing a certain number of significant digits or numbers after the decimal, but in reality could have a large number of decimal places.  On the field properties, you can see how many significant digits or decimal places it is showing by clicking the numeric option, and can control the number of significant digits or decimal places it shows.

With 0 decimal places showing(Double Field)

Double with 0 Decimal Places.png

Changing Numeric Field Properties

Numeric.png

Change decimal places showing

ChangedDigits.png

New field values showing

MoreDigitsShowing.png

So your double field, might have some significant rounding issues, depending on the number of significant digits or decimal places it is showing.   The true value is stored in the table, but is just rounded for display purposes.

JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hi Dan,

Go to Field Properties of <NumericColumn>. Reduce the number of significant digits to 5.

Now using FieldCalculator for <TextColumn>, just enter the fieldname of <NumericColumn> in the expression.

Think Location
0 Kudos
DanHoralík
New Contributor II