Identify number of buffer around a point within a polygon

Jump to solution
12-23-2015 02:14 AM
CraigRattigan
New Contributor

Hi, I'm new to ArcGIS. I am in the process of completing part of dissertation project looking at the potential of low carbon energy as an alternative to a proposed nuclear development, as part of this I have designated suitable locations for which wind turbines can be constructed. However each of these turbines have a set distance needing to be separated by so a buffer zone and the consequent buffer circle have been estimated at 70685 sq m;

1. Is there a tool which could estimate the number of buffered points which could be situated inside a polygons (Mock-up shown in attached picture

2. Slightly more confusing, the buffer zones can theoretically cross the polygon boundary so is there an appropriate tool for both of these points

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

I think one problem is that you potential containment area where one can place things, it pretty specific and probably the result of a variety of constraints.  The placement of the turbines is pretty convoluted...

• the blades can't touch (pretty reasonable)
  • the footprint has to be inside the containment area
  • the turbines can overhang
  • you want to optimize packing

You want to be looking for 'packing' algorithms (like circles in rectangles etc, or hexagons in rectangles)