How to populate Add-In Combo Box with attributes

Jump to solution
12-27-2013 08:52 AM
KatieGaut1
New Contributor III
Hello,
     I'm using ArcMap 10.2 and trying to populate an Add-In Combo Box with the attributes (SampleYear)0 of a layer (Stream_Temperatures).  Then, on selection of a year in the Combo Box, have those records selected.

The steps I've identified are as follows

1)  Identify and get values from the selected attribute (SampleYear) of Layer (layer = Stream_Temperatures)
2)  Display these selected years in a Combo Box
3)  On user selection of year, select this year in feature class

I'm new to Python and programming and would love any thoughts or suggestions. 

Thanks,
Katie
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
T__WayneWhitley
Frequent Contributor
Katie,
For unique values of SampleYear, you can dynamically extract them and populate the combo box list:
values = [row[0] for row in arcpy.da.SearchCursor(layer, ["SampleYear"])] for uniqueVal in sorted(set(values)):             self.items.append(uniqueVal)

...you know, instead of populating the list with all values in the SampleYear field of the cursor records (which contain duplicate years, if I am understanding correctly?).

If that assumption is correct, then replace this section of Jake's code (repeated below) with that provided above.
with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(layer, ["SampleYear"]) as cursor:             for row in cursor:                 self.items.append(row[0])

Wayne

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor
Hi Katie,

You could use the following:

import arcpy
import pythonaddins

class ComboBoxClass1(object):
    """Implementation for UserData_addin.combobox (ComboBox)"""
    def __init__(self):
        self.editable = True
        self.enabled = True
        self.dropdownWidth = 'WWWWWW'
        self.width = 'WWWWWW'
    def onSelChange(self, selection):