Population Density in Census Tracts

12-03-2013 12:37 PM
VikJasrotia
New Contributor
I am quite new to Python and I am attempting to practice by making a simple program with ArcGIS. I wanted to make a script that automated the calculation of population density of selected census tracts within the city I live in. I also wanted to give the ability for the user to choose the census tract.

I then wanted to provide a map layout in ArcMap of the specific tract with the population, area, and population density being shown.

I realize most of this can be done using ModelBuilder, but I needed practice with Python and thought this would be a good simple program to start with. Anyone have any pointers on the script and also how I could possibly make it better?

Thanks
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
MaxSquires
Occasional Contributor
One useful thing to try is running the tools that your are interested in scripting from arccatalog. Make sure the results tab is enabled.  After running the tool you can right click the result object for the tool and select "copy as python snippet."  This copies the exact command that was passed to the arcpy interpreter. you can paste it into your python editor and inspect it further. 

One thing you should also look into is using the traceback, and os libraries (import os, traceback, etc.)  to help you debug your script.
simple error handling helps a lot when working with arcpy. something as easy as

try:
    arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd)
except:
    print "there was an exception"
    # from arcgis python editor or toolbox execution:
    arcpy.GetMessages()
    # from idle or the like:
    print arcpy.GetMessages()

can prevent you from banging your head against the wall for too long.