Query a csv file with a search cursor to join certain entries to another shapefile

03-07-2012 03:48 AM
LisaD
by
New Contributor
I am stuck and hoping someone here can help.  I am rather new to Python but came up with something I thought could help me and was attempting to implement it. 

I have a comma delimited file that contains a few columns of data, three of which I want to use.  I have rows of data categorized under one column called "SP" which has numbers from 1 to 10.  I want to be able to write a loop script that parses only the data for SP = 1, joins that data to another shapefile based on a column called Cell_ID, then for SP = 2 and joins that to a shapefile based on the column called Cell_ID, then SP = 3 and joins that to another shapefile based on a column called Cell_ID and so on.

I thought this task could be done using a search cursor with a where clause but I am not getting too far.  My guess is I am making it too hard because that is what I always do :9(

Could I get some hints as to if the search cursor would work (can you join to another shapefile based on the results of a search cursor?) and if so how would the where clause be implemented.  If that won't work can you point me in the right direction?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
I would try making a tableview with a where clause. Make a list of your where clauses or create them on the fly depending on the complexity. You may have to convert your data to a different table type first, I don't believe csv is directly supported for this tool.
0 Kudos
LisaD
by
New Contributor
I would try making a tableview with a where clause. Make a list of your where clauses or create them on the fly depending on the complexity. You may have to convert your data to a different table type first, I don't believe csv is directly supported for this tool.

I will try that and let you know.  I did not know about tableview.
0 Kudos
LisaD
by
New Contributor