Set default value for a field in ArcMap using python

05-06-2015 09:30 AM
StacyMcNeil
New Contributor II

I have been trying to figure out how I can set a default value to a field in ArcMap.  I see there is a tool called Assign Default to field but that is applied to the entire dataset.  I would like the default to apply to the current ArcMap session only.  In the Create Features window you can right click a layer and set a default there to get the behavior I would like but am trying to accomplish this for multiple layers in the TOC using python.

This is what I have been trying, starting with one layer first, but get an error "The attribute 'defaultValue' is not supported on this instance of Field"  I can print the defaultValue however.

feature_class = "Roads"

fields = arcpy.ListFields(feature_class)

for field in fields:

if field.name == "Project_Name":

field.defaultValue = "Test_Project"

Forgive me if I am making an obvious mistake.  I am still a beginner.  Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
18 Replies
SepheFox
Frequent Contributor

import os   

import arcpy 

def AssignDefault(tbl, fld):   

try:   

fname = arcpy.ListFields(tbl, fld)[0].name   

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT")   

default = os.path.splitext(arcpy.Describe(mxd.filePath).name)[0]   

arcpy.AssignDefaultToField_management(tbl, fname, default) 

print default 

except:   

print("Could not assign default")

AssignDefault("Roads", "Project_Name")

StacyMcNeil
New Contributor II

Thanks Dan.  I haven't used functions much.  I did get it to run but as I thought, the default value was assigned to the feature class itself so when I go to another map the same default value is present.  That is why I was trying to use the defaultValue property for the field.  What I really need is a default on a field that will exist for in the mxd only.  Just like how you can set it in the template properties when creating a new feature.  Maybe this is not possible.

0 Kudos
curtvprice