Survey Question for all Python Programmers. Please I need feedback from you all!!

06-25-2013 12:59 PM
MichelleCouden1
Occasional Contributor III
OK, so I'm new at writing scripts. I take alot of pride in my work when I finish the script. So recently, one of my coworkers took one of my scripts and rewrote it to fit his needs. Should I be happy about this?????? I'm not used to people taking my work. Is that what we do with our scripts? Share them I guess??
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
11 Replies
DavidAllen
Occasional Contributor
OK, so I'm new at writing scripts. I take alot of pride in my work when I finish the script. So recently, one of my coworkers took one of my scripts and rewrote it to fit his needs. Should I be happy about this?????? I'm not used to people taking my work. Is that what we do with our scripts? Share them I guess??

I generously share my code with anyone who wants it. And when I borrow code, I typically keep the "Author:" line at the top as the original author and add an "Amended by:" name and date, and depending on the severity of the change, a note on what changes were made.

People should be polite and respectful when they borrow your code, and you can request attribution. But I don't think it's a requirement.
0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus
I do as well, particularly Python code.  If you don't want it used by others, then make sure you include a distribution license agreement.  Alternately, you can embed code within a toolbox which those people over the age of 16 unable to unlock your code 🙂
😄
0 Kudos
RhettZufelt
MVP Frequent Contributor
I have no problem sharing my code.  besides, anyone I work with would need to come back to me to modify it for them anyway  :cool:

R_
0 Kudos
JamesCrandall
MVP Frequent Contributor