Political Affiliation Data?

Jump to solution
09-21-2012 01:02 PM
JessicaBarnabei
New Contributor III
Does anyone know where to get political affiliation data by county or census tract for the whole USA?  I'm working on some research of a particular interest in which the hypothesis is that it does not matter what political party you align yourself with, you will mostly feel a certain way when faced with certain local factors.  I would appreciate any help that people could point me towards.  I'm new to the research field.  Any help is greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
1 Solution
9 Replies
RobertPincus
New Contributor III
Try the Registrar of Voters for the counties you are interested in.

Robert.
0 Kudos
JessicaBarnabei
New Contributor III
Thanks Robert.  Unfortunately this is a study of about 3,000 locations.  So going to individual counties isn't an option with my time limits.  But this would be a good idea for one of my other smaller regional studies.  If you know of any full nation dataset by county, let me know.  Many Thanks, Jessie
0 Kudos
JessicaBarnabei
New Contributor III
I found 2008 data by county with some more searching.....just thought I'd post in case others had trouble.  I hope the data stays up on this page....I'm sure it will expire soon though since its a GIS class page.
https://www.e-education.psu.edu/geog863/l5_p8.html
0 Kudos
MiguelPerla
New Contributor
Not sure if you would still be looking for this data but i have two very good sources- one is free for California data--- http://statewidedatabase.org/index.html  and the other is kinda free- you can get this data for free until a point- then they charge- haven't personally bought any data from them though a number of colleagues who are involved in electoral campaigns do so. check these out. Hope it helps, MP
0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus