Select to view content in your preferred language

IT Network Infrastructure

Jump to solution
4 weeks ago
JeremyLee
New Contributor II

First off, let me preface this by saying I know nothing about GIS or ESRI products. I am a systems admin with an idea to help develop a tool that would help our whole department. We have a GIS analyst on our staff that would be able to help me with some of this, but I'd like to be able to get a good head start before involving him as he's very busy. I would like to overlay our IT network infrastructure on top of a map of our city. I would like to show the physical location of our equipment, be able to select the equipment to learn more about it, color code or use different icons for different types. What are some of the tools or products that would be useful for this type of product? I read on the ESRI website that this is something they're promoting now (https://www.esri.com/en-us/industries/technology/focus-areas/it-network-mapping-and-visualization#de...). This would be a great tool for me and my coworkers, but I need a good push in the right direction to get started! Is this similar to how utility networks are created? I am going to the UC in July, what would be some good topics for sessions I should sit in on? Thank you for the help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
StaciaCanaday
Esri Contributor

Hi Jeremy - welcome to the Esri telecom community! We're glad you're here.

If I understand your ask correctly, you're looking for a way to draw a map of your IT network infrastructure on top of a base map showing your city. It's important to show the physical locations of the network assets and maybe you'd capture a few key pieces of information about each asset, which you could use in a pop-up or to color-code the different pieces of equipment on the map. Is that right?

If so, I think Esri's Communications Data Management offering might do the trick. Here is a link with more info and a short video for you to check out.