Select to view content in your preferred language

Network Analysis - road connectivty

08-14-2010 12:18 PM
BridgetWright
New Contributor
Hey,

I am new to network analysis so the following problem may be very simple!

I am trying to create a 'nearest facility' network analysis dataset.  When I add stops on one road, the system seems to be able to solve the route. However, when I put a stop on a new road, the system cannot establish the connectivity. I am not sure if this is some sort of topological error.... I am pretty sure I set the roads to snap to each other..... Is there something I may be overlooking with endpoint connectivity? ..... I would also like to note that this network dataset is only for pedestrians so I presume the whole process should be less complicated than if it were for vehicles??
I have read a lot of documentation and tutorials and there seems to be little direction on how to tackle errors.....

I am working off a student version of ArcMap and I was just wondering is some of the functionality for network analysis limited on the student version? :confused:
0 Kudos
4 Replies
MichaelRice
New Contributor III
I assume that, when you say "the system cannot establish the connectivity", you mean that the Route solver is unable to find a path, correct?

If so, this could be for several different reasons, the two most likely of which would be the following:

• You have connectivity issues in your dataset. If the network is small enough, you can try troubleshooting this possibility by using the Network Identify tool on the Network Analyst toolbar to click on the starting edge (or junction) and try finding a simple path to the destination by progressively following the adjacent elements shown by the identify dialog. If there is no such path, then there are problems with your connectivity.