Problems creating, editing Python Script that clips feature classes from a database

08-29-2011 02:49 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: jeffja

I'm new to python and have only a little experience in programming. I need clip approximately  20 feature classes from a SDE database that has approximately 100 feature classes in it . I will need these 20 clipped features for numerous projects. they need to have different output locations. I was told not to put them in a dataset that they need to stay the way they are in the SDE database. I also do not have permission to edit in the SDE database.

My solution was to copy (and make two edits) a clipping script from ArcGIS Resource Center that seems close to what i need.  The script was imported to notepad, then python 2.6 and a script tool was create with four user input parameters (input, clip feature, output  and cluster tolerance)
Attached are two files. one is my code from the script. the second is the errors from the python command line

The edits I made were
1.  Replace fcs = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses() with a list   fclist =  ("S_R04_FIF.ActivityPolygon","S_R04_FIF.GeosciSri", etc etc)
2.   Add �??_Clip�?� to fc to make  (fc +�??_Clip�?�)

It does not work. It allows me to add the four parameters. And begins processing  and fails after 11 seconds with a syntax error in the code. Don�??t know what the error are. If I add the code to the python command line I get all sorts of indent errors which does not seem correct .  Hopefully somebody has an idea or solutions.

thanks
0 Kudos
2 Replies
StacyRendall1
Occasional Contributor III
Firstly, one of the lines of your script is split over two lines, this could be the syntax error... Also the line if fc <> os.path.basename(clipFeatures): might be better as  if fc != os.path.basename(clipFeatures): - that is ! (not) = (equal). Here is an edited version of your script to include these changes:
# Script Name: Clip Multiple Feature Classes