snapping stop points to streets

08-15-2010 10:28 AM
sarmadhussain
New Contributor
Hello
I am totally new to arcgis programming. I get a gps coordinates for vehicles and these coordinates are not exactly on the road, they are mostly off by 4-5 meters. When i load my network dataset and try to find the route based on these points, the solver is not able to snap the points to any of the roads. Is there a threshold value in the settings which i can specify to get the points to snap to the road ?

Thanks
macher
0 Kudos
11 Replies
MichaelRice
New Contributor III
How are you doing this programmatically? Are you using the Network Analyst API (e.g., the NAClassLoader or NALocator objects)? If so, I can show you how to do snapping. If not, please let me know what API you are working with.
0 Kudos
sarmadhussain
New Contributor
yes i am using the network analyst api and i would definitely appreciate your help in not only snapping the points to the roads but also to optimize my purely noob and unoptimized code.

thanks
0 Kudos
MichaelRice
New Contributor III
Feel free to post any of your code in this thread for further discussion.

The most basic programming pattern used to load data into a network analysis layer is to use the NAClassLoader. See here for more detail and some simple code samples: http://resources.esri.com/help/9.3/ArcGISDesktop/ArcObjects/esriNetworkAnalyst/NAClassLoader.htm

The link above will provide code samples in several programming languages showing the most basic way to use the NAClassLoader for loading data from an input source feature class. If you want to enable snapping, then use the INAClassLoader2 interface (look under the 'Interfaces' section at the above link, and click on 'INAClassLoader2' to see more information).

In your case, if you want to snap directly to the network, then simply set INAClassLoader2.SnapToNetwork = True before calling Load.
0 Kudos
sarmadhussain
New Contributor