Pass DrawBox polygon into a query

Jump to solution
01-30-2018 08:39 AM
Helenpeng
New Contributor III

I am developing a Validation Widget that can tell if the free-drawn-polygon is inside the state boundary or not. I have the ArcGIS JavaScript code which run well in the Sandbox. The code is to use button-click to draw a polygon, and pass the polygon geometry into a query, then check the length of result. See the sandbox code (works) attached.

In the widget.js, I have added the jimu/dijit/DrawBox in the widget. I cannot figure out passing the drawn-polygon created by the DrawBox into my query. I tried the code attached and the error message showed “geometry null” and “queryTask.execute is not a function”. I am new to WAB and would appreciate some suggestions. The widget.js (not working) is attached.

Additionally, I know the WAB has a Query Widget. I look at the widget.js, which uses dojo/query, instead of esri/tasks/query. I wonder if I need to replace with dojo/query to make my widget run.

Thanks,

Helen

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
16 Replies
Helenpeng
New Contributor III

Thanks for the helpful code. After I add the dependency 'dojo/_base/lang', the widget works very well! Very appreciated!

this.own(on(this.drawBox, 'DrawEnd', lang.hitch(this, this._onDrawComplete)));

is very powerful! It makes the connection between the Draw-box with my query.

I think lang.hitch is kindly like function/event. What does “own” means and why puts “own” inside postCreate?

I found some information below for “own” but do not fully understand.

--most of the things that you define inside .own() are getting correctly removed once the widget itself is destroyed. Using .own() prevents memory leaks in your app.

0 Kudos
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

For your question about "dojo/query" versus "esri/tasks/query", these are two very different things.

dojo/query is for querying the DOM to get at its nodes.

Helenpeng
New Contributor III

Thank you! I see the difference now. 

0 Kudos